13 Comments

Regarding diet: I have absolutely no idea how my diet has affected (and does affect) my prostate cancer. AS far as I know, it would be rather difficult to assess this scientifically, if not impossible, in part because it is virtually impossible to predict the development of one's PCa. Were I to base the impact my diet has by comparing it to the impact my diet apparently had on my cholesterol situation, I would say it has had no impact (diet changes led nowhere except to being prescribed statins). On the other hand, were it not for my diet I might have had to be treated actively a few years ago.

So: diet includes a lot of raw vegetables and fruits, red meat about 3 or 4 times a year, fish and shellfish regularly, various kinds of grain both unprocessed and processed (bulghur, quinoa, brown [and white] rices), lots of almonds and sunflower seeds (and flax, ground and unground), too much bread of various types, a fair amount of yogurt, and sugar only in desserts--never in coffee or tea (I make great apple and apple rhubarb crisps).

Expand full comment
Feb 1, 2022Liked by Howard Wolinsky

My diagnosis of PCa was, eventually, a wake up call. The VA Urologist told me nothing, but that I had a Gleason 3+3 and could postpone treatment, and possibly postpone treatment for many years.

My first year after diagnosis was spent drinking and snacking. When I climbed out of that depression, I joined a PCa support group, who led me to a path of self education. By that time my BMI had reached 30.0, and I woke up and started taking care of my health.

I have a similiar diet and exercise to that described, and I love the results. I also believe it has enabled me to postpone treatment more than without these changes.

Double blind studies have shown PCa to be effected by lifestyle.

Of course, AS is a postponement of treatment, it is not a cure.

Expand full comment
Feb 1, 2022Liked by Howard Wolinsky

I was recently diagnosed with a very small Gleason 3+3 carcinoma in one fusion biopsy core sample out of 16. I have been exercising 6 or 7 days a week and on a mostly fish, organic poultry and plant-based diet for more than 10 years, which helped me reverse an increase in PSA from 3.0 up to 5.0 and then back down to around 2.0. I went on Finasteride at the same time and tried a few supplements that didn't help my BPH symptoms, but I suspect the good diet and regular exercise was the most important aspect to manage my PSA and overall good health. Since my Gleason 3+3 diagnosis and Howard Furer's comments, I have eliminated the remaining rare diet exceptions. I hope by doing all the right things under my control that I will be able stay on Active Surveillance indefinitely and manage my BPH symptoms.

Expand full comment
Feb 1, 2022Liked by Howard Wolinsky

I used to read in the 70's that animal fats had a cellular link to cancer. Since becoming AS in 2012 I have gradually removed beef and nonorganic chicken from my diet. With exercise and a few supplements I manage my PSA and have a healthy heart, weight and BMI of 22. A few sugars from desserts but no ice cream. Follow the UCSF PC diet online.

Expand full comment
Feb 1, 2022Liked by Howard Wolinsky

WFPB whole food plant based diet. And continually learning about food and inflammation. Yes, I absolutely feel that diet impacts prostate cancer.

Expand full comment
Jan 31, 2022Liked by Howard Wolinsky

No red meat, very little dairy, sugar or processed foods. Lots of nuts, fruit & veggies. Exercise 3 or 4 times per week. No weight change, but had lost 25 pounds (on purpose) just before diagnosis in 2019. New to this blog - thanks for doing this Howard.

Expand full comment
author

Slim and trim. Good work Alan. The Active Surveillor.

Expand full comment
Jan 31, 2022Liked by Howard Wolinsky

Mostly plant based. No progression since diagnosis 18 months ago. Lost almost 50 pounds. Urinary urgency now very rare.

Expand full comment